Author Topic: (no subject)  (Read 2669 times)

Dude Man

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6393
    • View Profile
    • http://dmdgames.mysticsoftware.net//
(no subject)
« on: January 16, 2005, 07:16:27 AM »
Okay, I'm working on my awsome custom menu for DMD RPG and a few buttons don't work! The return button and the exit button don't work and none of the text shows up. It's probally just something really obivious that I forgot, but I can't find out what's wrong. Sorry, if this pisses of anybody... -_-

(note this isn't the complete program, and this is in TK3)

Code: [Select]
#Bold("on")
#FontSize(14)
#Bitmap("backteal.gif")*this sets the background
*main buttons
#SetButton("new.gif", 1, 2, 2, 22, 32)
#SetButton("save.gif", 2, 24, 2, 22, 32)
#SetButton("load.gif", 3, 46, 2, 22, 32)
#SetButton("help.gif", 4, 68, 2, 22, 32)
#SetButton("setup.gif", 5, 90, 2, 22, 32)
#SetButton("return.gif", 6, 112, 2, 22, 32)
#SetButton("exit.gif", 7, 134, 2, 22, 32)
*other buttons
#SetButton("status.gif", 7!, 178, 2, 22, 32)
#SetButton("item.gif", 8!, 200, 2, 22, 32)
#SetButton("equip.gif", 9!, 222, 2, 22, 32)
#SetButton("tech.gif", 10!, 244, 2, 22, 32)

#gethp(playerhandle[0]$,onehp!)
#getmaxhp(playerhandle[0]$,onemaxhp!)
#getfp(playerhandle[0]$,onefp!)
#getsmp(playerhandle[0]$,onemp!)
#getmaxsmp(playerhandle[0]$,onemaxmp!)
#getlevel(playerhandle[0]$,onelevel!)
#getdp(playerhandle[0]$,onedp!)
#text(40,40,"<playerhandle[0]$>   Level: <onelevel!>")
#text(40,45,"<onehp!>HP/<onemaxhp!>HP")
#text(40,50,"<onemp!>MP/<onemaxmp!>MP")
#text(20,55,"<onefp!>FP <onedp!>DP")
#If(playerHandle[1]$~= "")
{
#gethp(playerhandle[1]$,twohp!)
#getmaxhp(playerhandle[1]$,twomaxhp!)
#getfp(playerhandle[1]$,twofp!)
#getsmp(playerhandle[1]$,twomp!)
#getmaxsmp(playerhandle[1]$,twomaxmp!)
#getlevel(playerhandle[1]$,twolevel!)
#getdp(playerhandle[1]$,twodp!)
#text(110,40,"<playerhandle[1]$>   Level: <twolevel!>")
#text(110,45,"<twohp!>HP/<twomaxhp!>HP")
#text(110,50,"<twomp!>MP/<twomaxmp!>MP")
#text(110,55,"<twofp!>FP <twodp!>DP")
}
#If (playerHandle[2]$~= "")
{
#gethp(playerhandle[2]$,threehp!)
#getmaxhp(playerhandle[2]$,threemaxhp!)
#getfp(playerhandle[2]$,threefp!)
#getsmp(playerhandle[2]$,threemp!)
#getmaxsmp(playerhandle[2]$,threemaxmp!)
#getlevel(playerhandle[2]$,threelevel!)
#getdp(playerhandle[2]$,threedp!)
#text(180,40,"<playerhandle[2]$>   Level: <threelevel!>")
#text(180,45,"<threehp!>HP/<threemaxhp!>HP")
#text(180,50,"<threemp!>MP/<threemaxmp!>MP")
#text(180,55,"<threefp!>FP <threedp!>DP")
}
#If (playerHandle[3]$~= "")
{
#gethp(playerhandle[3]$,fourhp!)
#getmaxhp(playerhandle[3]$,fourmaxhp!)
#getfp(playerhandle[3]$,fourfp!)
#getsmp(playerhandle[3]$,fourmp!)
#getmaxsmp(playerhandle[3]$,fourmaxmp!)
#getlevel(playerhandle[3]$,fourlevel!)
#getdp(playerhandle[3]$,fourdp!)
#text(250,40,"<playerhandle[3]$>   Level: <fourlevel!>")
#text(250,45,"<fourhp!>HP/<fourmaxhp!>HP")
#text(250,50,"<fourmp!>MP/<fourmaxmp!>MP")
#text(250,55,"<fourfp!>FP <fourdp!>DP")
}
#If (playerHandle[4]$~= "")
{
#gethp(playerhandle[4]$,fivehp!)
#getmaxhp(playerhandle[4]$,fivemaxhp!)
#getfp(playerhandle[4]$,fivefp!)
#getsmp(playerhandle[4]$,fivemp!)
#getmaxsmp(playerhandle[4]$,fivemaxmp!)
#getlevel(playerhandle[4]$,fivelevel!)
#getdp(playerhandle[4]$,fivedp!)
#text(320,40,"<playerhandle[4]$>   Level: <fivelevel!>")
#text(320,45,"<fivehp!>HP/<fivemaxhp!>HP")
#text(320,50,"<fivemp!>MP/<fivemaxmp!>MP")
#text(320,55,"<fivefp!>FP <fivedp!>DP")
}
#Done!=0
#while(done!==0)
{
#mouseclick(x!,y!)
#checkbutton(x!,y!,button!)

#if(button!==0)
{
  *none
}
#if(button!==1)
{
  *new game
  #reset
}
#if(button!==2)
{
  *save game
  #Mwincls
  #dirsav(dest$)
  #Mwincls
  #if(dest$~="CANCEL")
  {
   #save(dest$)
   #done!=1
   #end
  }
}
#if(button!==3)
{
  *load game
  *'load game' clicked
  #dirsav(dest$)
  #if(dest$~="CANCEL")
  {
   #load(dest$)
   #done!=1
   #end
  }
  #if(button!==4)
  {
   *help
  }
  #if(button!==5)
  {
   *setup
  }
  #If(button!==6)
  {
   *return
   #ClearButtons()
   #done!=1
  }
  #if(button!==7)
  {
   *exit
   #dos()
  }
  
  
  }
  


So yeah, what did I do wrong?
« Last Edit: January 16, 2005, 07:17:29 AM by Dude Man »
~Welcome back mysticsoftware.net??
The Black Walkway

Aminaga

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1665
    • View Profile
    • http://ultimategamingproductions.net
(no subject)
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2005, 07:20:28 AM »
Sorry, but I don't think I can be of any use this time,
but I am looking forward to seeing it done!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Aminaga »
<span style=\'font-size:16pt;line-height:100%\'><a href=\'http://ultimategamingproductions.net\' target=\'_blank\'>WWW.ULTIMATEGAMINGPRODUCTIONS.NET</a></span>

Dude Man

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6393
    • View Profile
    • http://dmdgames.mysticsoftware.net//
(no subject)
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2005, 07:21:36 AM »
Yeah, that's fine. Xorlak is usally the person to answer these.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2005, 07:22:02 AM by Dude Man »
~Welcome back mysticsoftware.net??
The Black Walkway

Aminaga

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1665
    • View Profile
    • http://ultimategamingproductions.net
(no subject)
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2005, 07:27:57 AM »
*Flees before the is in the great Xorlak's presence!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Aminaga »
<span style=\'font-size:16pt;line-height:100%\'><a href=\'http://ultimategamingproductions.net\' target=\'_blank\'>WWW.ULTIMATEGAMINGPRODUCTIONS.NET</a></span>

Number Eight

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 945
    • View Profile
(no subject)
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2005, 09:02:13 AM »
I don't use buttons, I use cursors. I have no idea how buttons even work Razz
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Number Eight »
<a href=\'http://www.rammstein.com/Extras/\' target=\'_blank\'></a>
<a href=\'http://www.wakeupwalmart.com/\' target=\'_blank\'></a>
<span style=\'font-size:14pt;line-height:100%\'><a href=\'http://www.ebaumsworldsucks.com/\' target=\'_blank\'>ebaumsworld sucks</a>
<a href=\'http://www.uweflade.de/rammstein.htm\' target=\'_blank\'>benzin</a>
</span>

 TE QUIERO PUTA!

Xorlak

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2225
    • View Profile
    • http://darkagegames.net
(no subject)
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2005, 10:23:30 AM »
At a glance, it looks correct.  I'll try pasting it into my TK3 and seeing what happens (I'll admit I haven't played with TK3 programs that much!)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Xorlak »

Colin

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 299
    • View Profile
(no subject)
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2005, 12:19:35 PM »
You don't need the "#"s, you silly people Wink

Also, Dude Man, the comment is "//", unlike '*', it's not prone to errors. The result of using '*' now, is undefined, for the following reason:

Code: [Select]
function() * x
Will execute:

Code: [Select]
function()->operator*(x)
From that point, if that's not what you meant, all hell may well break loose.

If it's any consolation, it executes properly for me.
« Last Edit: January 16, 2005, 12:22:26 PM by Colin »
— Colin

Spyder

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1695
    • View Profile
    • http://www.mysticsoftware.net
(no subject)
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2005, 06:19:35 AM »
Some of us will probably stick with using #'s because of habit. IMO it makes things easier to read as well.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Spyder »

Aminaga

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1665
    • View Profile
    • http://ultimategamingproductions.net
(no subject)
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2005, 11:52:00 AM »
You mean you can still use #s in TK3?

Okay, I am so going to try out TK3 after I'm done with
The Blade of Champion!

The thing is, I'm not sure if you can make full screen games
with it.

EDIT: I tried running this program in TK3, and you're right,
it definenly needs improvment, because it didn't open squat!
« Last Edit: January 17, 2005, 11:57:41 AM by Aminaga »
<span style=\'font-size:16pt;line-height:100%\'><a href=\'http://ultimategamingproductions.net\' target=\'_blank\'>WWW.ULTIMATEGAMINGPRODUCTIONS.NET</a></span>

Dude Man

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6393
    • View Profile
    • http://dmdgames.mysticsoftware.net//
(no subject)
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2005, 02:28:05 PM »
Probally because there is alot of different things you have to do in TK3.

So, KSN, your saying if I change * into // it should work?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Dude Man »
~Welcome back mysticsoftware.net??
The Black Walkway

Colin

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 299
    • View Profile
(no subject)
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2005, 04:44:31 PM »
Quote from: "dreammakermaster"
I tried running this program in TK3, and you're right,
it definenly needs improvment, because it didn't open squat!


Probably because you don't have the images that the buttons references, hence providing you with a blank screen.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Colin »
— Colin

Aminaga

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1665
    • View Profile
    • http://ultimategamingproductions.net
(no subject)
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2005, 01:10:31 PM »
Ahhh...good point. lol
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Aminaga »
<span style=\'font-size:16pt;line-height:100%\'><a href=\'http://ultimategamingproductions.net\' target=\'_blank\'>WWW.ULTIMATEGAMINGPRODUCTIONS.NET</a></span>