Author Topic: Maps  (Read 2157 times)

RaXioN

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Maps
« on: August 10, 2007, 06:47:07 PM »
So is it possible to make maps?  Of course I mean maps that show your current location.  Cuz if you had a big world to play in you would want a map to show you were you are, no one likes to walk for around for a long time and never find were they are goin.  I really dont care about fast traveling (trasport from A to B).  I personally dont like when games give you a certain direction to follow form start to finish.  Just a symbal.  Just for when your walking around the open world, when you go into a cave or somthing then the map shows the location of the cave and not the detailed insides.  has this been done, cuz I havent seen a prg for it.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Guest »
Check Out These Oblivion Video!
    On Top
    On Top 2
    On Top Extra
    Through The Fire & Flames[/list]

    Reck

    • Member
    • *
    • Posts: 14
      • View Profile
    Re: Maps
    « Reply #1 on: August 11, 2007, 12:12:19 AM »
    yea it is possible i think ive seen it done before but im lame at programming to explain it sorry  Laughing
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Guest »
    Dude man was right i am a Retard \"Sad\"


    D. Ein

    • Member
    • *
    • Posts: 1139
      • View Profile
    Re: Maps
    « Reply #2 on: August 11, 2007, 12:31:46 AM »
    I know nothing of Toolkit, but even I can tell you how to do that.

    First, you have local areas, right? Ones with buildings and such, say inside a town. Then, you have your actual map - one which will display towns and such. So, once your guy reaches the edge of your town, say, by going west, the westmost edge will teleport him to a different board - the map. Once in your map, you'll have smaller icons resembling towns - so when a player walks into a town, it zones him into the town he walked into.

    I'm sure others will be able to give a more thorough explanation - or did you mean something else?
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by D. Ein »
    !!!! , ...

    —staring wildly up and down
    the here we are now judgment day

    cross the threshold have no dread
    lift the sheet back in this way.
    here is little Effie’s head
    whose brains are made of gingerbread

    Dude Man

    • Member
    • *
    • Posts: 6393
      • View Profile
      • http://dmdgames.mysticsoftware.net//
    Re: Maps
    « Reply #3 on: August 11, 2007, 01:02:35 AM »
    Yes it is indeed possible. It's been done in several games (Dark Age 2 is the only one that I can think of off the top of my head). I don't entirely know how to do it myself, but I think it involves targetLocation(x!, y!).

    I'm pretty sure Xorlak knows how to do it (since he did it in Dark Age 2), even though coding has changed since TK2.
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Guest »
    ~Welcome back mysticsoftware.net??
    The Black Walkway

    Reck

    • Member
    • *
    • Posts: 14
      • View Profile
    Re: Maps
    « Reply #4 on: August 11, 2007, 04:03:53 AM »
    heh i kinda know how.

    Now this way is a lame way but it could work if you broke the map into locations like north,south,east,west and center (these are replacing names of areas such as from lord of the rings The shire, mordor and isengard)

    Now all you need to do is when you walk into the area by going through a cave or forest (which most game do anyway) use a warp tile. The warp program you use to do so add something that will change the menu map image to the map image with the highlighted area.

    but thats where my brain finsh sorry:lol:
    you might need to use the force or something

    note: im not a programmer theres prolly a way easier way of doing it  Confused
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Guest »
    Dude man was right i am a Retard \"Sad\"


    Xorlak

    • Administrator
    • Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 2225
      • View Profile
      • http://darkagegames.net
    Re: Maps
    « Reply #5 on: August 11, 2007, 03:53:24 PM »
    Each pixel of the DA2 world map corresponds to a tile.  I just pick up the x and y values of the player location on the board (playerX[0]!, playerY[0]! or similar... been a few years) and multiply it by x and y constants I have set for each world map board (the upper left world map board is (0, 0), the one to the right is (1, 0), etc...) and get the exact pixel the player is standing on.  From there I just place the cursor on the map.
    « Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Guest »