Author Topic: (no subject)  (Read 3957 times)

Anonymous

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
(no subject)
« on: November 05, 2003, 08:15:57 AM »
Just curious, what is everyone's opinion of the best way to handle custom stats? TK's standards are just too damn boring. I want to implement something like
hit points
attack power
defense power
accuracy
evasion
vitality
strength
dexterity
speed
exp
level

I realize that things like HP, AP(or FP ingame), EXP and level are all included in game, but i figured that if I was to make a custom stat system I should deviate completely from the standards.

Any idea on how to use that system while completely breaking away from the TK's standards?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Anonymous »

Cesque

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2178
    • View Profile
    • http://cesque.mysticsoftware.net
(no subject)
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2003, 09:31:24 AM »
Good idea, indeed.

My game - for a small comparision - is divided into stats, attributes and skills, based off games like Fallout. There are 5 attributes: Strength, Endurance, Agility, Willpower and Intelligence. Stats are things like HP, MP, speed. Skills include lockpicks, barter, combat skills, magic and some miscellaneus ones. As you start game, you get different attributes for various characters (perhaps I'll change it so that you can add points to them yourself with certain class limits).

Beside items, you can't change stats, but they improve depending on your attributes. For example, having a few points of strength will give you thing like +15 HP each level, but having 10 strength will give you, let's, say, +50 HP. So characters evolve during gameplay, depending on your profile.


Skills can only be improved by adding points to them (gotten after level-up, amount dependant on your intelligence), so that they gain higher levels - the higher level, the more points needed.

Personally, I don't like mixing stuff like HP/attack with things like evasion etc... But that's my very own personal opinion.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Cesque »
TKGB cancelled Spyder.

Bastard.

TK Game Boy

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 782
    • View Profile
    • http://Coming Soon
(no subject)
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2003, 03:50:29 PM »
Yes you can do that.  How?  Well lets say you want a stat for Streangth.  How do you do that?  Prepare to have you're eyes twisted out of porportion cause its gonna make you go vertigo:

Code: [Select]
#streangth_character[01]!==3
 Surprised Oh my Lord! So hard to remember!

Ok enough with the pathetic joke.  A stat can be as simple as a variable here.  But the way to use this is to make a custom battle and menu system (but I assume you will be making one).


---

Im also making a game with different stats.  It has:

Streangth
Power
Speed
Vitality
Magic Streangth
Evade

There is one more but I can't remember.

These will be used in accordance with the enviroment of the duel.  If its cold, hot, night, day, etc.

But the trouble is knowing whats what.  How do I use these stats.  But im working on it.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by TK Game Boy »
OI!

Anonymous

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
(no subject)
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2003, 10:12:12 PM »
Actually, this is close to something I'm trying to do, so maybe you guys can help me a bit.  (hope I'm not intruding too much.  :unsure: )

I've just started a game and wanted to include some custom stats, like resistances and vulnerabilities.  At the start of the game, it runs a prg that sets all the varibles for the characters and (hopefully) the enemies.  For example: Electric Bob is resistant to electricity, but Test_Critter who take double damage from it.  In stat.prg I have...

Code: [Select]
* Bob
Bob[hot]!=1
Bob[cold]!=1
Bob[electric]!=.25

*Test Critter
Test_Critter[hot]!=1
Test_Critter[cold]!=1
Test_Critter[electric]!=2

Then I have a special move for Bob that shoots lightning.  The Special move code is....
Code: [Select]
#MyDamage!=-Bob[maxsm]!*"Target"[electric]!
#GiveHP("Target",Mydamage!)
#Kill Mydamage!

Which obviously isn't working.  I'm kind of hoping that one of you know  how  I can set it up so that the game can recognize which monster Bob is fighting to see if it's resistant to (x) damage type or not?   I looked through most of the TK code and couldn't find anything on enemy name varibles, but I may have missed it.  

Oh I'm running TK2 if that makes a difference.

Thanks in advance and sorry to bother you.  Very Happy
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Anonymous »

Cesque

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2178
    • View Profile
    • http://cesque.mysticsoftware.net
(no subject)
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2003, 01:12:35 AM »
Vertigo? Okay! That's nothing. In my game there's variable for each single skill, and each single resistance... And there are about 10 elements (physical, fire, cold, water, shock, air, acid, mind, I think about adding pierce, poison, light & plasma)

And that's nothing, I remember all of 'em Very Happy
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Cesque »
TKGB cancelled Spyder.

Bastard.

Anonymous

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
(no subject)
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2003, 09:51:04 AM »
So... how do you do it?  My script can't tell one enemy from another, so the result of...

MyDamage! = -Bob[maxsm]! * "Target"[electric]!  

is always

MyDamage! = -Bob[maxsm]! * 0

 Sad
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Anonymous »

Cesque

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2178
    • View Profile
    • http://cesque.mysticsoftware.net
(no subject)
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2003, 11:24:23 AM »
1. It's not default BS, in case you think so.

2. Each enemy has different variable, it's not "target". Let's say enemy_1_hp! = XXX, and then #if(target! = 1) {#target_hp! = enemy_1_hp!}
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Cesque »
TKGB cancelled Spyder.

Bastard.

Cesque

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2178
    • View Profile
    • http://cesque.mysticsoftware.net
(no subject)
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2003, 11:26:56 AM »
In case you wonder how to do it in default system, well FORGET ABOUT IT. It's a piece of crap not even done with tk.

If you want to make enemy has specific resistance, give him let's say 50 HP and 25 MP, and then detest with move if enemy max HP is 50 and MP is 25, if so make lightning attack deal 2x damage or smth... This works if no 2 enemies have same HP/MP. I used this method with default BS before I started doing my own.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Cesque »
TKGB cancelled Spyder.

Bastard.

Anonymous

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
(no subject)
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2003, 07:02:19 PM »
Ah, okay!  That makes sense.

Guess I gotta go research how a battlesystem works so I can start trying to cobble my own together. Oh man... so much to learn just to get started.  :blink:

Thanks for clearing that up for me.  Smile  I may try that second method as a temporary measure enough to get started, but I have a feeling custom BD is going to be the only way to go.

-Glitch Girl
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Anonymous »

Anonymous

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
(no subject)
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2003, 07:38:09 AM »
Quote
Yes you can do that. How? Well lets say you want a stat for Streangth. How do you do that? Prepare to have you're eyes twisted out of porportion cause its gonna make you go vertigo:


CODE 
#streangth_character[01]!==3



 Oh my Lord! So hard to remember!

Ok enough with the pathetic joke. A stat can be as simple as a variable here. But the way to use this is to make a custom battle and menu system (but I assume you will be making one).


Figures it'd be that easy...
::scraps complicated "Write/Append/Read File stat system"::
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Anonymous »

Dont_Think_So

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
(no subject)
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2003, 08:32:05 PM »
Well, if you want to use commands instead of variables, you could just get my stats method pack from the shack Smile
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Dont_Think_So »

Schrinzo

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cornalien.tk
(no subject)
« Reply #11 on: December 27, 2003, 06:02:49 AM »
I'm useing costum stats too  :huh:
- strength
- charm
- intelligence
- sleep
gonna add some more but i'm not sure which one Sad
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Schrinzo »
HuHu

Check <a href=\'http://cornalien.proboards25.com/\' target=\'_blank\'>CornAlien.tk</a>, k? -- i know it suck

Cesque

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2178
    • View Profile
    • http://cesque.mysticsoftware.net
(no subject)
« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2003, 05:06:58 AM »
SLEEP? What is SLEEP supposed to do?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Cesque »
TKGB cancelled Spyder.

Bastard.

Cesque

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2178
    • View Profile
    • http://cesque.mysticsoftware.net
(no subject)
« Reply #13 on: December 29, 2003, 05:09:04 AM »
I've changed my stat system a little. There will be brand new attribute, PERCEPTION.

Also, I'm making skills not level-based, but rather point-based... Like in DA2, sort of. There will be up to 25 points you can add to a skill, but each next point costs you more "skill points". You can increase stats over 25 but only with items, like in Diablo 2.

I've thinked about adding "perks" or "talents" each 3 levels... But I don't think it'll pass.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Cesque »
TKGB cancelled Spyder.

Bastard.

Night Staker

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
(no subject)
« Reply #14 on: January 27, 2004, 01:42:26 PM »
default stats sound really good. cheers guys im always on the look out for new stuff 4 my game!! DTS i mite have to down load ur stats fing.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Night Staker »