Author Topic: (no subject)  (Read 3898 times)

Anonymous

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
(no subject)
« on: February 21, 2004, 05:24:59 PM »
Hey all.  Here's my problem.  I have two characters who have two names in their handles, as in "Joe Smith" rather than just "Joe."  Normally, in turns of calling up their character portraits and such, this isn't a problem.  I just name the profile image "Joe Smith.bmp" and it pops right up.

However, I'm having a problem with calling up their stats.  For example, in code like this:

#PixelText(125,namey!,"<playerhandle[num!]$> <myjob[num!]$>")

...where myjob$ is supplied by this code:

#setstatlit("Joe Smith","Job","Worker")
#getstatlit("Joe Smith","Job",myjob$)

...the Toolkit apparently gets confused by the space in Joe Smith's name.

Obviously, I could just rename Joe Smith as plain old Joe, but I don't want to do that.

My question is, does anybody know of a way around this?  For example, would it be possible for the actual handle of the character to be Joe, but have his name always appear as Joe Smith on menus, etc?  I've seen code where people use "+" to tack stuff on, like:

#portrait[num!]$==playerhandle[num!]$+PNG$

...but I'm not sure how I would go about doing this for only the two of my eight total characters.

Any help is greatly appreciated (as is all of the help I've gotten already!).

DM
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Anonymous »

Dude Man

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6393
    • View Profile
    • http://dmdgames.mysticsoftware.net//
(no subject)
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2004, 05:58:54 PM »
Well I think I know what to do here.

Have his name Just be Joe. Then at the begining of the game in the start program do this:


#Joe[name]$= Joe Smith

If you do that then in the RPG code editor you can just use Joe but in the game his name will display as Joe Smith!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Dude Man »
~Welcome back mysticsoftware.net??
The Black Walkway

Mark of the Dragon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1658
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geocities.com/zeroentity01/
(no subject)
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2004, 07:01:21 PM »
yeah, that'll do it.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Mark of the Dragon »
<center>
Roy Mustang



Yeah...that sounds like me <_<

<center>
You were born in the land of Warrior Pride. You live to fight, you have a strong spirit, courage and bravery. Strong lord! Unsheath thy sword, rush into war and strip the enemy of his flesh down to the core.


Umm...yeah

Spyder

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1695
    • View Profile
    • http://www.mysticsoftware.net
(no subject)
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2004, 08:19:32 PM »
I had this problem because my classes include those such as Red Mage. I just named the class Red_Mage. It works fine.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Spyder »

Anonymous

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
(no subject)
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2004, 08:35:18 PM »
Got it to work.  Thank you yet again, guys!

DM
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Anonymous »

Anonymous

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
(no subject)
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2004, 08:58:52 PM »
Wait a sec...  It only appeared to be working because I had forgotten to change a few things.

Well, I changed all of my character's stuff to just "Joe," and then used this code in my start.prg:

#Joe[name]$="Joe Smith"

Unfortunately, it is not changing his name on the main menu or status screen.  Am I missing something somewhere...?

DM
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Anonymous »

Cesque

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2178
    • View Profile
    • http://cesque.mysticsoftware.net
(no subject)
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2004, 03:13:54 AM »
Make sure that in character section, variable which is Joe's name is Joe[name]$...

Or maybe it doesn't work on status screen and menu. Dunno.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Cesque »
TKGB cancelled Spyder.

Bastard.

Zeros'

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1540
    • View Profile
(no subject)
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2004, 08:23:15 AM »
Well theres another way to do it...you can just have no space in it...but what dude man said should work...#Joe[name]$="Joe Smith"...unless...did you make sure to make everything with "Joe Smith" in it is changed to "Joe"?

Then if that doesnt work, you cna just do JoeSmith or like Spydey and do Joe_Smith...well thats about all I can do  Laughing
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Zeros' »
\"Runaway with my heart...
 Runaway with my hope...
 If I could make you mine...I\'ll go whereever you will go.\"

\"So lately, I\'ve been wondering...
 Who will be there to take my place...
 When I\'m gone, You\'ll need love...To light the shadows on your face.\"

\"If a great wave should fall...
 It would fall upon us...
 Well I hope there\'s someone out there...Who can bring me back to you.\"

\"Way up high or down low...I\'ll go wherever you will go.\"

\"Runaway with my love.\"

In your heart and mind, I\'ll stay with you all of time...

Xorlak

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2225
    • View Profile
    • http://darkagegames.net
(no subject)
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2004, 10:42:56 AM »
Quote
My question is, does anybody know of a way around this? For example, would it be possible for the actual handle of the character to be Joe, but have his name always appear as Joe Smith on menus, etc?


I would set up a special display name variable for all the characters.  Name him "Joe" for all Toolkit purposes.  When you add him to your party, set this variable:

#Display_Name[Joe]$="Joe Smith"

Now access this variable in your menu (assuming you have a custom one) like this:

* where i! = character slot number
#name$=playerHandle[i!]$
#displayname$=Display_Name[name$]$
#text(x!,y!,displayname$)

With this method, you'll have to set up a display name variable for all your characters, even if they don't have spaces in their name.


Or, you could always do the underscore suggestion and just use a Toolkit font and erase the underscore character (heh...)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Xorlak »

Anonymous

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
(no subject)
« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2004, 11:36:27 AM »
I'm afraid I'm still not having any success with this.

Following Xoralx's advice, I put code like this just after each event where a character is added (with the main character's code being in start.prg):

#Display_Name[Joe]$="Joe Smith"

I put this near the beginning of my menu program, where the display settings are:

#name$=playerhandle[num!]$
#displayname$=Display_Name[name$]$

Here is the original code that controls how the character's name is printed on the main menu screen (This is the only place on screen where the name appears):

#PixelText(125,namey!,"<playerhandle[num!]$>")

I changed it to this:

#PixelText(125,namey!,"<displayname[num!]$>")

When I run this, the character name comes up blank.  Being a total newbie, I assume that I've made a simple mistake somwhere.  If anyone can show me where, I'll really appreciate it.  This is starting to drive me bonkers.   :blink:

DM
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Anonymous »

Xorlak

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2225
    • View Profile
    • http://darkagegames.net
(no subject)
« Reply #10 on: February 29, 2004, 10:56:40 AM »
You need to do this all together, where you want to put the name on the screen:

#name$=playerhandle[num!]$
#displayname$=Display_Name[name$]$
#PixelText(125,namey!,"<displayname$>")
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Xorlak »

Anonymous

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
(no subject)
« Reply #11 on: March 01, 2004, 07:13:52 PM »
*smacks forehead*

Ah, yes!  Thank you, it works perfectly!
Very Happy

DM
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Anonymous »

Dude Man

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6393
    • View Profile
    • http://dmdgames.mysticsoftware.net//
(no subject)
« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2004, 04:51:16 PM »
Good. Now I wish you the best of luck on your game and I hope your able to finish it! Most of my games a work on for about a week and then get bored and stop. Here's a list of game wich may or may not ever be finished

Bronze
Quest of Gram
Blade Cutter
Gun Blazer
Hamlet
Maelstorm
Shock Trigger
Center Earth
The Gate of Hope

 Sad It a shame really...it's a shame....*sniff*

DON'T LET IT HAPPEN TO YOU! WORK ON YOUR GAMES 1 or 2 at a time...or umm...Just don't let it happen to you!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Dude Man »
~Welcome back mysticsoftware.net??
The Black Walkway

Anonymous

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
(no subject)
« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2004, 08:56:05 PM »
Ha!  Don't worry.  The game I'm working on has been in my head since 1996 or so.  Sure, there were periods of time when I didn't think much about it, but it's always been there, wishing it had some way of getting out.  Now that I've found the Toolkit, my game idea is very happy, and not willing to leave me alone until it is successfully ported into an actual game.  So, I suspect I'll be chipping away at it for some time.

And thank you for the well-wishes.  Right back at ya!

DM
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Anonymous »

Cesque

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2178
    • View Profile
    • http://cesque.mysticsoftware.net
(no subject)
« Reply #14 on: March 07, 2004, 03:02:38 AM »
I haven't finished - or abandoned - lots of games. Here are titles, heh...

Jerod's Quest
Song of Azrael
Elliot the Jew
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Cesque »
TKGB cancelled Spyder.

Bastard.